Night Music 2016

A series of short concerts involving top Irish and Northern Irish musicians. High quality chamber music presented in an informal setting, along with opportunities to eat, drink and meet the artists. Join us from 8.00 pm for talks and interviews with composers and artists. The 9.00 pm performances will combine familiar masterpieces with new and contemporary works.

This is a BYO event, so feel free to bring a bottle. Light refreshments will also be available.

All concerts will take place in the Duncairn Centre for Culture & Arts.

3 February 2016
Duncairn Arts Centre, 9.00pm

Ruth McGinley Piano
Gabriella Swallow Cello

Arvo Pärt Spiegel im Spiegel
Rachmaninov Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano Op.19 (mvt. 3)
Satie 3 Gnossiennes
Chris McCann New work
Hellawell Atria

Ruth McGinley came to international attention after her success in the BBC Young Musician of the Year 1994. She has performed as a soloist with the major orchestras in Ireland and the UK and also has an interest in Classical crossover, which has led to her working with artists such as Hayley Westenra and The Priests.

Gabriella Swallow is a leading interpreter of contemporary music, having worked with the London Sinfonietta, Nigel Kennedy, the Gwilym Simcock Quintet and Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Kaleidoscope Night
(Various Artists)


Reich New York Counterpoint
Caffrey Till Night Has Overgone (Night Music commission)
Irvine Just a Lighter Touch
Aperghis Recitations selection

This evening is in partnership with Dublin-based ‘Kaleidoscope Night’, a long-established and treasured monthly salon music series, championing rarely-heard Baroque, Classical, contemporary, experimental and non-Classical music. Performers on the night will be the Chatham Saxophone Quartet, performing Steve Reich, Brian Irvine and, in the company of contemporary specialist soprano Elizabeth Hilliard, a new work by Greg Caffrey, commissioned by Moving on Music for Night Music. Hilliard will also perform a selection of Georges Aperghis’ ‘Recitations’ and baroque and medieval repertoire will be presented by Laoise O Brien (recorders) and Aimee Farrell Courtney (bodhrán).

Quatuor Béla
with Garth Knox

Pre concert talks begin at 8.00 pm

Mawhinney In All The Worlds for viola d’amore and string quartet
Knox The Weaver’s Grave
Purcell Fantasy on One Note
Britten 3 Divertimenti

Founded in 2006 by four musicians from the National Higher Conservatory of Music of Lyon and Paris (Julien Dieudegard and Frédéric Aurier, violin, Julian Boutin, viola, Luc Dedreuil, cello), the Béla Quartet were brought together by a shared passion for the repertoire of the 20th century. The quartet is committed to championing new compositions and exploring the relationship between composers and performers.


hard-rain_250x142Link to Night Music 2014 video


Experience The Contemporary Music Centre’s Resonating Now: New Music Voices programme from 8.15pm each night, talks, panel discussions and interviews involving composers and performers